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REPORT OF INVESTIGATION
COMPLAINT NO. 22-006

(D) Ms. Carol Muszik of Sevierville, Tennessee, alleges that the Mayor of the Town of
Redington Shores, MaryBeth Henderson, violated the Code of Ethics for Public Officers and
Employees.

2) The complaint alleges that the Respondent failed to disclose taxable income earned
from three separate mortgages issued to borrowers on her 2016, 2017, and 2018 CE Form 1,
"Statement of Financial Interests." The complaint indicates one mortgage commenced on
December 16, 2016, and was satisfied on August 8, 2017, and the other mortgages
commenced, respectively, on June 20, 2017, and August 15, 2018. The complaint also alleges
the Respondent failed to disclose her ownership interest in a parcel of property, located at
17720 Lee Avenue, Redington Shores, on her 2016 CE Form 1. Finally, the complaint alleges
the Respondent sold the 17720 Lee Avenue property and failed to disclose the gain from the
sale of the property on any financial disclosure form.

(3) The Executive Director of the Commission on Ethics noted that based upon the
information provided in the complaint, the above-referenced allegations were sufficient to
warrant a preliminary investigation to determine whether the Respondent's actions violated
Section 112.3145, Florida Statutes (Disclosure of Financial Interests).

Allegation that Respondent Failed to Disclose Mortgage Interest

4 The Complainant alleges the Respondent failed to disclose interest income she
received relative to three mortgages that she and her (Respondent’s) husband issued to
borrowers. The Complainant claims the first mortgage was issued on December 16, 2016, to
Marek and Aleksandra Stobnicki, for property located at 17720 Lee Avenue, Redington
Shores, Florida. Records of the Pinellas County Clerk of Court reflect that the mortgage was
for $1,095,000, and that interest would be collected on the mortgage. The Clerk of Court's
records confirm that the mortgage was satisfied by the Stobnicki's on August 8, 2017. A
review of the Respondent's 2016 and 2017 CE Forms 1 (appended as pages 9 through 12 of
the complaint) reflect the Respondent chose to use the "Dollar Value Threshold" manner of
calculating her reportable interests. According to the disclosure form instructions for "Part A
— Primary Sources of Income," using the Dollar Value Threshold manner of calculating
reportable interests requires the filer to list "the name, address, and principal business activity
of each source of your income which exceeds $2,500 of gross income received by you in your
name or by any other person for your use or benefit." The Respondent did not identify the
Stobnicki's as a primary source of income on either her 2016 or 2017 CE Forms 1. The
instructions for the CE Forms 1 explain in pertinent part:

"Gross income" means the same as it does for income tax
purposes, even if the income is not taxable, such as interest on
tax-free bonds. Examples include: compensation for services,
income from business, gains from property dealings, interest,
rents, dividends, pensions, IRA distributions, social security,



distributive share of partnership gross income, and alimony, but
not child support.

(%) The second mortgage noted by the Complainant was issued on June 20, 2017, to Kylie
Paige Henderson (the Respondent’s daughter) and Christopher Richard Hann, Jr., for property
located at 11627 Grove Place, Seminole, Florida. Records of the Pinellas County Clerk of
Court reflect that the mortgage was for $325,000, and that interest would be collected on the
mortgage. The Clerk of Court's records do not reflect that this mortgage has been satisfied.
The Respondent's 2017 (appended as pages 11 and 12 of the complaint) and 2018 CE Forms 1
(appended as Exhibit A) reflect the Respondent chose the Dollar Value Threshold manner of
calculating her reportable income for these years. Ms. Henderson and Mr. Hann were not
identified as primary sources of income on either her 2017 or 2018 CE Form ls.

(6) The third mortgage noted by the Complainant was issued on August 15, 2018, to
Susan Williamson, for property located at 17920 Gulf Boulevard, Unit 1403, Redington
Shores, Florida. Records of the Pinellas County Clerk of Court reflect that the mortgage was
for $350,000, and that interest would be collected on the mortgage. The Clerk of Court's
records reflect this mortgage was satisfied on May 21, 2019. The Respondent's 2018 CE
Form 1 (Exhibit A) reflects she used the Dollar Value Threshold manner of calculating her
reportable income, and she did not list Ms. Williamson as a primary source of income.

(7 The Respondent advised, in the presence of her attorney, Mark Herron, that she served
as a Commissioner for the Town of Redington Shores in 2016 and 2017 and became the
Mayor of Redington Shores in 2018. The Respondent advised that she relied on her husband,
who has a work history in finance and accounting, to read the instructions and complete the
CE Form l1s for each year in question. The Respondent said she spent very little time
reviewing the disclosure forms, other than signing the forms, and did not understand the
instructions or what was required to be reported on the forms even after reading them.

(8) The Respondent’s husband, Chris Henderson, stated that they have learned a lot about
the difference in percentage and dollar value thresholds for the CE Form 1, especially within
the last six months since this instant complaint was filed. He said he thought he understood
the instructions and spent about 10 minutes completing the forms when he completed them
for the Respondent in the past. He continued that he has learned it takes closer to two days to
gather the records and properly complete the CE Form 1. When asked why he and the
Respondent failed to include the interest earned from the mortgages in Part A of the CE Form
1s, he stated that his understanding of the reportable income was that it must exceed five
percent of the gross income, which he did not believe occurred relative to the mortgage
interest. However, the five percent gross income threshold pertains to the instructions only
when a filer uses the “comparative [percentage] threshold” method of calculation, which the
Respondent and her husband did not use. The Respondent’s husband agreed that he did not
invest sufficient time to truly understand the instructions provided with the form. He said he
now understands the interest income was incorrectly excluded.



%) According to records provided by the Respondent and her husband, the amounts of
interest from the mortgages in question exceeded the $2,500 reportable amount on the CE
Form 1s. The records provided reflect the annual interest from the mortgage with Marek and
Aleksandra Stobnicki exceeded the $2,500 threshold for reportable income for 2017, but no
interest income was received during 2016. The annual interest from the mortgage with Kylie
Henderson and Chris Hann exceeded the $2,500 threshold for reportable income during 2017
and 2018. The annual interest from the mortgage with Susan Williamson exceeded the $2,500
threshold for reportable income for 2018.

Allegation that Respondent did not Disclose Ownership of a Parcel of Property

(10)  The Complainant alleges the Respondent purchased the property located at 17720 Lee
Avenue in Redington Shores on January 11, 2012, and subsequently sold the property on
December 16, 2016. The Complainant maintains that the Respondent failed to disclose
ownership of this property in "Part C — Real Property," on her 2016 CE Form 1.

(11) The Respondent’s husband stated that, after reading the CE Form 1 instructions, it
appeared that they did not need to list their primary residence in Part C. He maintains the
17720 Lee Avenue residence was considered their primary residence in 2016, and for this
reason, they did not list it.

(12)  The instructions for Part C - Real Property, for the 2016 CE Form 1 note:

In this part, list the location or description of all real property in
Florida in which you owned directly or indirectly at any time
during the disclosure period in excess of 5% of the property's
value. You are not required to list your residences. You should
list any vacation homes if you derive income from them.

(13)  The Pinellas County Property Appraiser's records confirm the property located at
17720 Lee Avenue was owned by the Respondent and her husband in 2016, and was
homesteaded property, denoting the property was the Respondent's primary residence.

Allegation that the Respondent Failed to Disclose Gain from Sale of Property

(14) The Complainant alleges the Respondent sold the property located at 17720 Lee
Avenue, Redington Shores, on December 16, 2016, and failed to disclose any gains earned
from the sale of the property on her 2016 CE Form 1.

(15)  The instructions for “Part A — Primary Sources of Income” for the 2016 CE Form 1
note that the filer must list each source of income exceeding $2,500 of gross income earned
by the filer or any other person for the filers use or benefit, including gains from property
dealings. However, the instructions also state the term “gross income” means the same as it
does for income tax purposes, even if the income is not actually taxable.



(16)  There is an exclusion from gross income for capital gains over a certain amount
($500,000 if married filing jointly) received from the sale of a taxpayer’s principal residence.
This exclusion is listed in 26 U.S.C. § 121, and indicates that gross income does not include
gain from the sale or exchange of property if, during the 5-year period ending on the date of
the sale or exchange, the taxpayer has owned and used the property as his or her principal
residence for periods aggregating 2 years or more. IRS Publication 523 (2016) (Exhibit B)
contains a specific eligibility test for income tax filers to determine whether they may exclude
from gross income the gain realized from the sale of a home under 26 U.S.C. § 121. The
eligibility test has five steps. The eligibility test details that you must: (Step 1) determine if
you have any automatic disqualifications; (Step 2) have owned your home for two out of five
years leading up to the date of the sale; (Step 3) have owned and used your home as your
residence for at least two years of the previous five years leading up to sale; (Step 4) not have
excluded gain for selling a home on your tax returns for the previous two years; and (Step 5)
no other exceptions apply.

(17)  The Respondent’s husband advised he and the Respondent had no federally taxable
gain to report to the IRS from the sale of their residence at 17720 Lee Avenue. He believed
that the gain from the sale of real estate was not reportable to the IRS since it was below the
$500,000 threshold and since they lived in the home for more than two years during the
preceding 5-year period. The Respondent’s husband maintains that they met the requirements
of the eligibility test detailed in IRS Publication 523 (2016) and realized no IRS reportable
capital gain from the sale of the residence at 17720 Lee Avenue.

END OF REPORT OF PRELIMINARY INVESTIGATION
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FORM 1 STATEMENT OF

Please phint or type your name, mailing g‘? g N /f% N {j g A EM‘ g Nrgﬁ E:J g»% E ;&;’E‘* %
1

address, agency name. and position below:
TLAST NAME - FIRST NAME — MIDDLE NAME
Henderson, MaryBeth

MAILING ADDRESS

17824 Lee Ave

CITY 2P COUNTY |
Redington Shores 33708 Pinellas
NAME OF AGENCY
Town of Redington Shores
NAME OF OFFICE OR POSITION HELD OR SOUGHT
Mayor / Commissioner

You are not limited to the space on the lines on this form. Attach additional sheets, if necessary.

CHECK ONLY iF [} CANDIDATE  OR [ﬂ NEW EMPLOYEE OR APPOINTEE

ot BOTH PARTS OF THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED "

DISCLOSURE PERIOD:
THIS STATEMENT REFLECTS YOUR FINANCIAL INTERESTS FOR THE PRECEDING TAX YEAR, WHETHER BASED ON A CALENDAR
YEAR OR ON A FISCAL YEAR. PLEASE STATE BELOW WHETHER THIS STATEMENT IS FOR THE PRECEDING TAX YEAR ENDING
EITHER (must check one)

!( DECEMBER 31, 2018 OR o SPECIFY TAX YEAR IF OTHER THAN THE CALENDAR YEAR

MANNER OF CALCULATING REPORTABLE INTERESTS:
FILERS HAVE THE OPTION OF USING REPORTING THRESHOLDS THAT ARE ABSOLUTE DOLLAR VALUES. WHICH REQUIRES FEWER

CALCULATIONS. OR USING COMPARATIVE THRESHOLDS, WHICH ARE USUALLY BASED ON PERCENTAGE VALUES (see instructions
for further details). CHECK THE ONE YOU ARE USING (myst check one)

.} COMPARATIVE (PERCENTAGE) THRESHOLDS ﬁ/ DOLLAR VALUE THRESHOLDS

PART A -- PRIMARY SCURCES OF INCOME [Major ¢
(If you have nothing to report, write "none” or "n/a"}

NAME OF SOURCE SOURCE'S DESCRIPTION OF THE SOURCE'S
ADDRESS PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ACTIVITY

OF INCOME

Town of Redington Shores 17425 Gulf Blvd, Redington Shores, FL |Town Government
Merrill Lynch 1500 American B, Pennington, NJ Dividends, Interest, Cap Gains

PART B -- SECONDARY SOURCES QF INCOME

{Major customers. chents, and other sources of income (o busmesses owned by the reporting person - Seg instiuchions)
(if you have nothing to report, write “none” or "nl/a’”")

PRINCIFAL
ACTIVITY OF Q0L

BUSINESS

NAME OF MAJOR SOURCES ADDR

NARN :
INTLHTY QF BUSINESS INCOME OF SDURCE

BUSINE

PART C - REAL PROPERTYY [Land buildings owned by the reporting person - See instructic . .
(If you have nothing to report, write "none’ or "“n/a") FILING INSTRUCTIONS for when
and where to file this form are

243 176th Ave. Redington Shores, FL 33708 located at the bottom of page 2.

INSTRUCTIONS on who must file
this form and how to fill it out
begin on page 3.

(Continued an reverso sids)

AL

COEGRM - fflectye Janvary |2
reopnrated Ly oalganos i Fula 145




Herder so 5 M

(if you have nothing to report, write "none" or "n/a")
TYPE OF INTANGIBLE

PART D — INTANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY [Stocks. bonds, certificates of deposil, ete. -

See instruction

VED

oo S

IY RELATES

Mutual funds, stocks, bonds & cash

AM 9: 39

PART E ~ LIABILITIES (M
(i you have nothing to report, write "nong" or "n/a")

NAME OF CREDITOR

ADDRESS OF CREDITOR

None

NAME OF BUSINESS ENTITY

PART F - INTERESTS IN SPECIFIED BUSINESSES [Ownership or positions in certain types of businesses - Seg instructions]
{if you have nothing to report, write "none” or "n/a")

BUSINESS ENTITY # 1

SHGENTITY # 2

BUSH

S ENTITY

PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ACTIVITY

POSITION HELD WITH ENTITY

I OWN MORE THAN A 5% INTEREST N THE BUSINESS

PART G — TRAINING

0]

SIGNATURE OF FILER:
Signature:

For elected municipal officers required 1o complete annual ethics training pursuant to section 112.3142 F.5

I CERTIFY THAT | HAVE COMPLETED THE REQUIRED TRAINING.

Ifyou were mailed the form by the Commission on Ethics or a County
Supervisor of Elections for your annual disclosure fiing return the
form to that location. To determine what category your position falls
under. see page 3 of instructions

Local officers/femployees file with the Supervisor of Elections
of the county in which they permanently reside. (If you do not
permanently reside in Florida. file with the Supervisor of the county
where your agency has its headquarters.) Form 1 filers who file with
the Supervisor of Elections may file by mail or email Contact your
Supervisor of Elections for the mailing address or email address to
use Do not emall vour form lo the Commission on Ethics. it will be
returmed.
State officers or specified state employees who file with the
Comrussion on Ethics may file by mail or email. To file by mail,
send the completed form to PO Drawer 15709 Tallahassee, FL
2317-5709. physical address 325 John Knox Rd, Bldg & Ste 200
Tallahassee FL 32303. To file with the Commission oy email scan
your completed form and any altachments as a pdf (do no! use any
other format) and send it to CEForm1@leg state flus Do not file by
bath mail and email. Choose only one filng method Form s will not
be accepted via email

CPA or ATTORNEY SIGNATURE ONLY

i
% I a certified public accountant licensed under Chapter 473, or attorney
I} n good standing with the Florida Bar prepared this form for you. he or
she must complete the following statement
] e prepared the CE
it Form 1in accordance with Section 112 3145 Flonda Statutes and the
E instructions to the form. Upon my reasonable knowledge and behef. the
disclosure herein is true and comrect

i CPA/Altorney Signature

Date Signed

Candidates file this form together with their filing papers

MULTIPLE FILING UNNECESSARY: A candidate who files a Form
1 with a qualifying officer 1s not required to file with the Commission
or Supervisor of Elections

WHEN TO FILE: Initially, each local officer/femployee. state officer
and specified state employee must file within 30 days of the
date of his or her appointment or of the beginning of employment
Appointees who must be confumed by the Senate must file prior to
confirmation. even if that 1s less than 30 days from the date of therr
appomniment,

Candidates must file at the same tme they file theirr qualifying
papers

Thereafter file by July 1 following each calendar year in which they
hold their positions

Finally file a final disclosure form (Form 1F) within 60 days of
feaving office or employment. Filing a CE Form 1F (Final Statement
of Financial Interests) does not rehieve the filer of fiing a CE Form 1

if the filer was in hus or her position on December 31 2018

A2
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Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service

Publication 523

Cat. No. 15044W

Selling
Your Home

For use in preparing

201 6 Returns

* [RS.gov (English)
* IR8.gov/Spanish (Espariol)
* IRS.gov/Chinese ($)

Mar 17, 2017

Contents
KeyPoints ................ . ... ... .. .... 1
StayingCurrent . ................ ... .. ..... 1
Related IRS Materials . .. ... ................. 2
Additional Resources . .. .................... 2
Does Your Home Sale Qualify for Maximum
Exclusion ................. ... .. .. ..... 2
MainHome . ....... ... . . ... 3
Eligibility Test ... ........................ 3
Does Your Home Qualify—Details and
Exceptions ............. ... ... .. ..., 4
Figuring GainorlLoss ....................... 6
Business or Rental Useof Home .. .......... 10
Basis Adjustments—Details and Exceptions . ... 11
How MuchlisTaxable ...................... 14
Recapturing Depreciation ................. 14
Reporting Your Home Sale . . ................ 18
Reporting Gain or Loss on Your Home Sale . ... 18
Reporting Deductions Related to Your Home
Sale ... 19
Reporting Other Income Related to Your
HomeSale . ................. . ... .... 19
Paying Back Credits and Subsidies .......... 20
HowTo GetTaxHelp ...................... 20
Index ........ . .. . . ... 23

Key Points

This publication explains the tax rules that apply when you
sell (or otherwise give up ownership of) a home. It also
shows you how to do the calculations you'll need to do.

If you sell your home at a significant profit (gain), some
or all of that gain could be taxable. However, in most
cases, if the home you sold counts as your main home,
the first $250,000 of gain isn't taxable—$500,000 if you
are married and filing jointly.

If you sell your home at a loss, the money you receive
isn't taxable. However, you can't deduct the loss from
other income.

This publication will show you how to determine if you
have a gain or loss, how much of that gain is taxable (if
any), and how to report your transaction correctly.

Staying Current

To be sure you have the most up-to-date information
related to Pub. 523, such as legislation enacted after it
was published, go to /RS.gov/pub523.

74



Related IRS Materials

You may find the following publications, forms, and
instructions helpful when you are working through this
publication.

Useful Items
You may want to see:

Publication

) 504 Divorced or Separated Individuals

0 505 Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax

O 527 Residential Rental Property

0 530 Tax Information for Homeowners

1 537 Installment Sales

1 544 Sales and Other Dispositions of Assets

1 547 Casualties, Disasters, and Thefts

1 551 Basis of Assets

(0 587 Business Use of Your Home

0 936 Home Mortgage Interest Deduction

0 4681 Canceled Debts, Foreclosures,
Repossessions, and Abandonments

Form (and Instructions)

) Schedule A (Form 1040) ltemized Deductions

[0 Schedule B (Form 1040A or 1040) Interest and
Ordinary Dividends

1 Schedule D (Form 1040) Capital Gains and Losses

1 982 Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of
Indebtedness

1 1040 U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
[ 1099-S Proceeds From Real Estate Transactions
0 4797 Sales of Business Property

0 5405 Repayment of the First-Time Homebuyer
Credit

O 6252 Installment Sale Income

[0 8822 Change of Address

1 8828 Recapture of Federal Mortgage Subsidy

[1 8949 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
0O W-2 Wage and Tax Statement

O W-7 Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer
Identification Number

Additional Resources

Comments and suggestions. We welcome your com-
ments about this publication and your suggestions for fu-
ture editions.

Page 2

You can send us comments from irs.gov/formspubs.
Click on “More information” and then on “Give us feed-
back.”

Or you can write to:

Internal Revenue Setvice

Tax Forms and Publications

1111 Constitution Ave. NW, IR-6526
Washington, DC 20224

We respond to many letters by telephone. Therefore, it
would be helpful if you would include your daytime phone
number, including the area code, in your correspondence.

Although we cannot respond individually to each com-
ment received, we do appreciate your feedback and will
consider your comments as we revise our tax products.

Ordering forms and publications. Visit irs.gov/
formspubs to download forms and publications. Other-
wise, you can go to irs.gov/orderforms to order current
and prior-year forms and instructions. Your order should
arrive within 10 business days.

Tax questions. If you have a tax question not an-
swered by this publication, check IRS.gov and How To
Get Tax Help at the end of this publication.

Does Your Home Sale Qualify
for Maximum Exclusion

The tax code recognizes the importance of home owner-
ship by providing certain tax breaks when you sell your
home. To qualify for these breaks, your home must meet
the Eligibility Test, which is explained later.

The type of home involved is less important. A sin-

gle-family home, condominium, cooperative apartment,
mobile home, or houseboat can all count as a home.

How your sale qualifies. Your sale qualifies for exclu-
sion of $250,000 gain ($500,000 if married filing jointly) if
all of the following requirements are met.

¢ You owned the home and used it as your main home
during at least 2 of the last 5 years before the date of
sale.

¢ You didn’t acquire the home through a like-kind ex-
change (also known as a 1031 exchange), during the
past 5 years.

e You didn’t claim any exclusion for the sale of a home
that occurred during a 2-year period ending on the
date of the sale of the home, the gain from which you
now want to exclude.

If all of these are true, skip to Figuring Gain or Loss,
later.

If one or more of these aren’t true, you might still be eli-
gible. Keep reading to find out.

Transfer of your home. If you transferred your home (or
share of a jointly owned home) to a spouse or ex-spouse
as part of a divorce settlement, you are considered to

Publication 523 (2016)



have no gain or loss. You have nothing to report on your
tax forms and this entire publication doesn’t apply to you.

Main Home

If you own or live in more than one home, the test for de-
termining which one is your main home is a “facts and cir-
cumstances” test.

The most important factor is where you spend the most
time. However, other factors can enter the picture as well.
The more of these that are true of a home, the more likely
it is your main home.

* The address listed on your:

1. U.S. Postal Service address,

2. Voter Registration Card,

3. Federal and state tax returns, and

4. Driver's license or car registration.
* The home is near:

1. Where you work,

2. Where you bank,

3. The residence of one or more family members,
and

4. Recreational clubs or religious organizations of
which you are a member.

Eligibility Test

You can exclude up to $250,000 of gain ($500,000 if mar-
ried filing jointly) on the sale of your home if you meet the
eligibility test.

Eligibility Step 1—Automatic
Disqualification

Determine whether any of the automatic disqualifica-
tions apply. Your home sale isn't eligible for the exclu-
sion if ANY of the following are true.

& You acquired the property through a like-kind ex-
change (1031 exchange), during the past 5 years.
See Pub. 544, Sales and Other Dispositions of As-
sets.

® You are subject to expatriate tax. For more information
about expatriate tax, see chapter 4 of Pub. 519, U.S.
Tax Guide for Aliens.

If any of these are true, skip to Figuring Gain or Loss,
later.

Eligibility Step 2—Ownership

Determine whether you meet the ownership require-
ment. If you owned the home for at least 24 months (2
years) during the last 5 years leading up to the date of
sale (date of the closing), you meet the ownership require-
ment.

Publication 523 (2016)

If you received Form 1099-S, Proceeds From Real
Estate Transactions, the date of sale appears in box 1
of Form 1099-S.

If you didn’t receive Form 1099-S, the date of sale is
either the date the title transferred or the date the eco-
nomic burdens and benefits of ownership shifted to the
buyer, whichever date is earlier. In most cases, these
dates are the same.

Eligibility Step 3—Residence

Determine whether you meet the residence require-
ment. If your home was your residence for at least 24 of
the months you owned the home during the 5 years lead-
ing up to the date of sale, you meet the residence require-
ment. The 24 months of residence can fall anywhere
within the 5-year period. It doesn't have to be a single
block of time. All you need is a total of 24 months (730
days) of residence during the 5-year period.

If you were ever away from home, you need to de-
termine whether that counts as time living at home or not.
A vacation or other short absence counts as time you
lived at home (even if you rented out your home while you
were gone).

If you have a disability, and are physically or men-
tally unable to care for yourself, you only need to show
that your home was your residence for at least 12 months
out of the 5 years leading up to the date of sale. In addi-
tion, any time you spend living in a care facility (such as a
nursing home) counts toward your residence requirement,
so long as the facility has a license from a state or other
political entity to care for people with your condition.

If you have more than one home, see Main Home,
earlier.

If your home was destroyed or condemned, see
Home Destroyed or Condemned—Considerations _for
Benefits, later.

If you work for the government as uniformed or in-
telligence personnel, or are with the Peace Corps,
see Service, Intelligence, and Peace (Corps Personnel,
later.

Eligibility Step 4—Look-Back

Determine whether you meet the look-back require-
ment. |f you didn't exclude gain for selling a home on
your tax returns for the previous two years (and you don’t
intend to do so on any returns or amended returns for the
past two years that aren't yet filed), you meet the
look-back requirement.

Eligibility Step 5—Exceptions

Check to see if there is anything about your situation
that could affect your answer to Eligibility Step
2—Ownership through Eligibility Step 4—Look-Back.

Page 3



You'll need to review Does Your Home Qualify—Details
and Exceptions, later, if any of the following are true.

* A marriage, separation, divorce, or the death of a
spouse occurred during the ownership of the home.

® The sale involved vacant land.

e What you sold was a “remainder interest” (such as
ownership of a home in which another person has the
right to live for the rest of his or her life).

® Your previous home was destroyed or condemned.

Eligibility Step 6—Review

Review your eligibility. If you meet the ownership, resi-
dence, and look-back requirements, your home sale quali-
fies for exclusion, skip to Figuring Gain or Loss, later.

If you didn’t meet all the tests in Eligibility Step 1
through Eligibility Step 5, earlier, your home isn't eligi-
ble for the full maximum exclusion. However, you may still
be eligible for partial exclusion if you can show the main
reason you sold your home was a change in workplace lo-
cation, health issues, or an unforeseeable event. See
Does Your Home Qualify—Details and Exceptions below.

Does Your Home Qualify—Details and
Exceptions

Partial Exclusion May Be Available

If you don't meet the eligibility test, you may still qualify for
a partial exclusion of gain if you moved because of work,
health, or an unforeseeable event.

You can qualify either by meeting a set of standard re-
quirements (the “safe harbor” provisions) or by showing
enough facts and circumstances to validate your claim.

Work-related move. You meet the standard require-
ments if any of the following happened during the time you
owned and lived in the home you sold:

® You took or were transferred to a new job in a work lo-
cation at least 50 miles farther from home than your
old work location.

* You had no previous work location and you began a
new job at least 50 miles from home.

e Either of the above is true of your spouse, a co-owner
of the home, or anyone else for whom the home was
his or her residence.

Health-related move. You meet the standard require-
ments if any of the following happened during the time you
owned and lived in the home you sold.

* You moved to obtain, provide, or facilitate diagnosis,
cure, mitigation, or treatment of disease, illness, or in-
jury for yourself or a family member.

® You moved to obtain or provide medical or personal
care for a family member suffering from a disease, ill-

ness, of injury.
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® Family includes:
1. Parent, grandparent, stepmother, stepfather;

2. Child, grandchild, stepchild, adopted child, eligi-
ble foster child;

3. Brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister,
half-brother, half-sister;

4. Mother-in-law, father-in-law, brother-in-law, sis-
ter-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law;

5. Uncle, aunt, nephew, niece, or cousin.

* A doctor recommended a change in residence for you
because you were experiencing a health problem.

® The above is true of your spouse, a co-owner of the
home, or anyone else for whom the home was his or
her residence.

Unforeseeable events. You meet the standard require-
ments if any of the following happened during the time you
owned and lived in the home you sold.

* Your home was destroyed or condemned.

* Your home suffered a casualty loss because of a natu-
ral or man-made disaster or an act of terrorism. (It
doesn’t matter whether the loss is deductible on your
tax return.)

e You, your spouse, a co-owner of the home, or anyone
else for whom the home was his or her residence:

1. Died;
2. Became divorced or legally separated,;

3. Gave birth to two or more children from the same
pregnancy;

4. Became eligible for unemployment compensa-
tion;

5. Became unable, because of a change in employ-
ment status, to pay basic living expenses for the
household (including expenses for food, clothing,
housing, medication, transportation, taxes,
court-ordered payments, and expenses reasona-
bly necessary for making an income).

* An event is determined to be an unforeseeable event
in IRS published guidance.

Showing facts and circumstances. If your circumstan-
ces don’t match any of the standard requirements descri-
bed above but the primary reason for sale, based on facts
and circumstances, is work-related, health-related, or un-
foreseeable. Important factors are:

¢ The situation causing the sale arose during the time
you owned and used your property as your residence.

* You sold your home not long after the situation arose.

e You couldn’t have reasonably anticipated the situation
when you bought the home.

¢ You began to experience significant financial difficulty
maintaining the home.
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