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MEMORANDUM
TO: Commission Members
FROM: Gray Schafer, Assistant General Counsel
DATE: November 20, 2024 AR
RE: Rule Hearing on amendments to Chapter 34-5 <\C§b ;

The Commission is being asked to consider and approve rulemaking involving necessary updates
Chapter 34-5, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.). The rule amendments have been duly
noticed and materials have been provided to the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee.

This rulemaking is intended to update certain rules regarding the handling of ethics complaints
and will reflect recent changes made by Ch. 2024-253, Laws of Florida. The updates are
necessary to implement statutory amendments made by the law to Section 112.324, Florida
Statutes. The particular amendments in question, which will be discussed below, concern new
timeframes for each stage of the ethics complaint process, and apply to complaints submitted to
the Ethics Commission on or after October 1, 2024. See § 112.324(3)(k), Fla. Stat. Rulemaking
authority for these changes is found in Section 112.322(9), Florida Statutes, which allows the
Commission "to _make such rules not inconsistent with law" regarding its practices and
procedures. (emphasis added). The following discussion will cite each change to the rules that
is needed, and cite to the newly-amended portion(s) of Section 112.324 requiring each individual
change.

First, Rulc 34-5.001(4) will bc amendcd to indicatc a copy of an original sworn cthics complaint
will be sent to the respondent (i.e, the alleged violator) only if it passes a technical and clerical
review. See § 112.324(1), Fla. Stat. (stating a complaint must be on the ethics complaint form
prescribed by the Commission).



Second, Rule 34-5.004(1) will be amended to indicate: (1) a preliminary investigation must be
undertaken by Commission within 30 days after receiving a complaint that is technically and
legally sufficient (§ 112.324(3)(a), Fla. Stat.); (2) a complaint can be amended up to 60 days
after the Commission receives the initial complaint (see § 112.324(3)(a), Fla. Stat.); and (3) the
Commission has one year to complete a preliminary investigation, including determining
probable cause (§112.324(3)(a), Fla. Stat.).

Third, Rule 34-5.004(7) will be amended to indicate: (1) an investigatory report must be
completed within 150 days from the start of the investigation (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.); and
(2) the process by which the Commission may extend the time frame to complete the
investigation, which can extend for up to 60 days (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.).

Fourth, Rule 34-5.006(1) will be amended to indicate an investigatory report must be sent to the
respondent within 5 days of its completion (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.).

Fifth, Rule 34-5.006(3) will be amended to indicate: (1) an investigatory report must be sent to
the Commission's Advocate within 5 days of its completion (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.); (2) the
Advocate will have 15 days upon receiving the report to submit a written recommendation to the
Commission concerning probable cause (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.); (3) the Advocate's
recommendation shall be sent to the respondent within 5 days of its completion, and the
respondent will have 14 days to respond in writing to the recommendation (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla.
Stat.).

Sixth, Rule 34-5.006(4) will be amended to indicate that, upon receiving the Advocate's
recommendation, the Commission will schedule a probable cause hearing for its next
Commission meeting (§ 112.324(3)(c), Fla. Stat.).

Seventh, Rule 34-5.006(7) will be amended to indicate: (1) if the Commission finds probable
cause during the hearing, it will send an order of this finding to the complainant and the
respondent within 5 days of the date of the determination (§ 112.324(3)(e), Fla. Stat.); (2) the
process by which a formal evidentiary hearing or an informal hearing may be requested,
including clarifying that a formal or informal public hearing will be deemed waived if not
requested by a respondent within 14 days of receiving the probable cause determination (§§
112.324(3)(e) and (3)(f), Fla. Stat.); and (3) the process by which the Commission will complete
final action on a case after a public hearing is held (§ 112.324(3)(g), Fla. Stat.).

Eight and finally, Rule 34-5.020(3) will be amended to indicate that at least two-thirds of the
members of the Commission present at a meeting must vote to reject or deviate from a
stipulation or settlement being recommended by the Commission Advocate. See §
112.324(3)(h), Fla. Stat.

The Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and the text of the proposed amended rules are attached.
You will be asked to approve this proposed rulemaking at your December 6, 2024, Commission
meeting.

Attachments
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DEVELOPMENT IS NOT AVAILABLE.

Section 11
Proposed Rules
COMMISSION ON ETHICS
RULE NOS.: RULE TITLES:
34-5.001 Staff Procedures Upon Receipt of a
Complaint of Breach of Public Trust
34-5.004 Investigations
34-5.006 Probable Cause Determination
34-5.020 Stipulations, Settlements, and Consent

Orders

PURPOSE AND EFFECT: The purpose of this rulemaking will
be to update the rules regarding the handling of ethics
complaints to reflect the deadlines and process changes recently
inserted into Section 112.324(3), Florida Statutes, by Ch. 2024-
253, Laws of Florida.

SUMMARY: All of the following amendments are based on
statutory additions to Section 112.324(3), Florida Statutes. Rule
34-5.001 will be amended to reflect that copies of an original
sworn ethics complaints will be sent to the respondent only if it
passes a technical and clerical review. Rule 34-5.004 will be
amended to indicate: (1) a preliminary investigation must be
undertaken by Commission within 30 days after receiving a
complaint that is technically and legally sufficient; (2) a
complaint can be amended up to 60 days after the Commission
receives the initial complaint; (3) the Commission has one year
to complete a preliminary investigation, including determining
probable cause; (4) an investigatory report must be completed
within 150 days from the start of the investigation; and (5) the
process by which the Commission may extend the time frame
to complete the investigation, which can extend for up to 60
days. Rule 34-5.006 will be amended to reflect: (1) the
investigatory report must be sent to the respondent and the
Commiission's Advocate within 5 days of its completion; (2) the
Advocate will have 15 days upon receiving the report to submit
a written recommendation to the Commission concerning
probable cause; (3) the Advocate's recommendation shall be
sent to the respondent within 5 days of its completion, and the
respondent will have 14 days to respond in writing to the
recommendation; (4) upon receiving the Advocate's
recommendation, the Commission will schedule a probable
cause hearing for its next Commission meeting; (5) if the
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Commission finds probable cause during the hearing, it will
send an order of this finding to the complainant and the
respondent within 5 days of the date of the determination; (6)
the process by which a formal evidentiary hearing may be
requested, including clarifying that a public hearing will be
deemed waived if not requested by a respondent within 14 days
of receiving the probable cause determination; and (7) the
process by which the Commission will complete final action on
a case after a public hearing is held. Rule 34-5.020 will be
amended to indicate that at least two-thirds of the members of
the Commission present at a meeting must vote to reject or
deviate from a stipulation or settlement being recommended by
the Commission Advocate.

SUMMARY OF STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED
REGULATORY COSTS AND LEGISLATIVE
RATIFICATION:

The Agency has determined that this will not have an adverse
impact on small business or likely increase directly or indirectly
regulatory costs in excess of $200,000 in the aggregate within
one year after the implementation of the rule. A SERC has not
been prepared by the Agency.

The Agency has determined that the proposed rule is not
expected to require legislative ratification based on the
statement of estimated regulatory costs or if no SERC is
required, the information expressly relied upon and described
herein: considering that these amendments pertain only to
deadlines and process requirements concerning how the
Commission handles ethics complaints, the adverse impact or
regulatory cost, if any, do not exceed and would not be expected
to exceed any one of the economic criteria set forth in Section
120.541(2)(a), FS.

Any person who wishes to provide information regarding a
statement of estimated regulatory costs, or provide a proposal
for a lower cost regulatory alternative must do so in writing
within 21 days of this notice.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY: 112.322(9), F.S.

LAW IMPLEMENTED: 112.324, FS. (as amended by Ch.
2024-253, Laws of Fla.)

A HEARING WILL BE HELD AT THE DATE, TIME AND
PLACE SHOWN BELOW:

DATE AND TIME: December 6, 2024, 8:30 a.m.

PLACE: First District Court of Appeal, Third Floor Courtroom,
2000 Drayton Drive, Tallahassee, Florida.

Pursnant to the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities
Act, any person requiring special accommodations to
participate in this workshop/meeting is asked to advise the
agency at least 3 days before the workshop/meeting by
contacting: Diana Westberry, Office Manager, Florida
Commission on Ethics (850)488-7864. If you are hearing or
speech impaired, please contact the agency using the Florida

Relay Service, 1(800)955-8771 (TDD) or 1(800)955-8770
(Voice).

THE PERSON TO BE CONTACTED REGARDING THE
PROPOSED RULE IS: Gray Schafer, Assistant General
Counsel, Florida Commission on Ethics (850)488-7864

THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED RULE IS:

34-5.001 Staff Procedures Upon Receipt of a Complaint
of Breach of Public Trust.

(1) through (3) No change.

(4) Transmittal of Complaint to Respondent. A copy of the
original sworn complaint that passes Technical and Clerical
Review shall be transmitted to the respondent by certified mail,
return receipt requested, by the Commission staff within five
days of its receipt. Subsequent sworn amendments to the
complaint also shall be transmitted to the respondent within five
days of their receipt. If the certified mailing is returned
undelivered, personal service of the copy of the complaint may
be used in the manner provided by law for service of subpoenas,
while maintaining the confidentiality of the complaint to the
extent possible under the circumstances.

(5) No change.

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. II, Sec.
8. (h), Fla. Const., Chapter 2013-36, Section 17, LOF, 112,322,
112.324 FS. History-New 4-7-77, Amended 9-21-77, 11-9-77, 7-13-
80, 11-26-80, 4-29-81, 2-21-83, Formerly 34-5.01, Amended 2-16-95,
10-29-13, .

34-5.004 Investigations.

(1) Commencement of Investigations. Investigations shall
be initiated only as provided above in Rule 34-5.002, F.A.C.,
provided that information from public records may be obtained
by staff prior to the ordering of an investigation to aid in the just
and efficient resolution of a complaint. A_ preliminary
investigation must be undertaken within 30 days after the
receipt of a technically and legally sufficient complaint to
determine whether there is probable cause to believe that a
violation has occurred. A complainant may submit an amended
complaint up to 60 days after the Commission receives the

initial complaint. A probable cause determination is the
conclusion of the preliminary investigation. The Commission
shall complete the preliminary investigation, including the
probable cause determination, no later than 1 year after the

beginning of the preliminary investigation.

(2) through (6) No change.

(7) Investigator’s Report. Upon the completion of the
preliminary investigation, the investigator shall prepare a report
to the Commission. The report shall contain a narrative account
of all pertinent information obtained through interviews of
witnesses, documentary evidence, or other sources and shall
include a discussion of any conflicts in the evidence. The report
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shall not contain any determination or speculation with respect
to whether the evidence indicates a breach of public trust. The
report shall make no recommendations. A separate report shall
be prepared in accordance with subsection (4), above, if
necessary.

(a) An investigatory report must be completed no later than
150 days after the beginning of the preliminary investigation.

respondent, or without the consent of the respondent when the
passage of time could reasonably be expected to render moot
the ultimate disposition of the matter by the Commission, so
long as the recommendation is furnished to the respondent
within a reasonable period of time under the circumstances.
(4) Notice of Probable Cause Hearing and Right to Attend.
Upon receipt of the Advocate's recommendation, the

(b) If, at any one meeting of the Commission held during a
given preliminary investigation, the Commission determines

that additional time is necessary to adequately complete such
investigation, the Commission may extend the time frame to

complete the preliminary investigation by no more than 60
days. During such meeting, the Commission shali document its
reasons for extending the investigation and transmit a copy of

such documentation to the alleged violator and complainant no
later than 5 days after the extension is ordered.

(8) No change.
Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. 1I,
Section 8(f), (h), Fla. Const, 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New 4-7-
77, Amended 9-21-77, 7-13-80, 1-12-82, Formerly 34-5.04, Amended
2-19-91 .

34-5.006 Probable Cause Determination.

(1) Notification of Completion of Investigation. When the
investigator’s report is completed, the Executive Director shall
notify the respondent that the report is completed and shall send
to the respondent a copy of the investigator’s report and a copy
of the Executive Director’'s order to investigate. The
investigatory report must be transmitted to the alleged violator
no later than 5 days after completion of the report. The
investigatory file and main complaint file shall be open for
inspection by the respondent and the respondent’s counsel at
that time, and copies may be obtained at no more than cost.

(2) No change.

(3) Advocate’s Recommendation. The investigatory report
must be transmitted to the counsel representing the Commission
(the Advocate) no later than 5 days after completion of the
report. The Advocate shall review the investigator's report and
make a_written recommendation to the Commission for
disposition of the complaint no later than 15 days after he or she
receives the completed investigatory report. The Advocate's

l L revi - . ; | challmal
& written recommendation to the Commission for the
disposition of the complaint; must include ineluding a statement
of what charges shall be at issue at the probable cause hearing.
A copy of the recommendation must be transmitted shall be
furnished to the respondent no later than 5 days after its
completion. The respondent shall be given 14 not-less-than 7
days from the date of mailing of the Advocate’s
recommendation;—within—which—time to file with the
Commission a written response to the recommendation. This
time period may be shortened with the consent of the
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Commission shall schedule a probable cause hearing for the
next Commission meeting for which notice requirements can be

met. The respondent, the complainant(s), their counsel, and the
Advocate shall be permitted to attend the hearing at which the
probable cause determination is made. Notice of the probable
cause hearing shall be sent to the respondent, complainant(s),
and Advocate at least 14 days before the hearing. This time
period may be shortened with the consent of the respondent, or
without the consent of the respondent when the passage of time
could reasonably be expected to render moot the ultimate
disposition of the matter by the Commission, so long as the
notice is furnished within a reasonable period of time under the
circumstances.

(5) No change.

(6) No change.

(7) Finding of Probable Cause. If the Commission finds
probable cause to believe a breach of the public trust has been
committed, it must transmit a copy of the order finding probable
cause to the complainant and the alleged violator no later than
5 days after the date of the probable cause determination,

(a) Upon request submitted to the Commission in writing,
any person whom the Commission finds probable cause to
believe has committed a violation is entitled to a public hearing

and may elect to have the formal administrative hearing
conducted by an administrative law judge in the Division of
Administrative Hearings.

(b) If the person does not elect to have a formal
administrative hearing by an administrative law judge, the
person is entitled to have an informal hearing conducted before
the Commission.

(¢) Such person is deemed to have waived the right to a
formal or informal public hearing if the request is not received

within 14 days of the mailing date of the probable cause

notification,

(d) If the Commission conducts an informal hearing, it
must be held no later than 75 days after the date of the probable
cause determination.

(e) If the Commission refers a case to the Division of

Administrative Hearings for a formal hearing and subsequently
requests that the case be relinquished back to the Commission,
or if the administrative law judge assigned to the case

relinquishes jurisdiction back to the Commission before a
recommended order is entered, the Commission must schedule

the case for additional action at the next Commission meeting
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for which notice requirements can be met. At that Commission
meeting, the Commission must complete final action on such

case.

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. II,
Section 8(f), (h), Fla. Const., 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—-New 4-7-
77, Amended 9-21-77, 7-13-80, 2-21-83, 11-14-85, Formerly 34-5.06,
Amended 2-19-91, 7-7-91, 7-5-92, 7-28-98, 9-4-12.

34-5.020 Stipulations, and Consent
Orders.

Informal disposition of the complaint may be made of any
proceeding by stipulation, agreed settlement, or consent order
between the Advocate and the Respondent, upon approval of
the Commission in a public meeting, so long as a public report
is made.

(1) through (2) No change.

(3) At least two-thirds of the members of the Commission
present at a_meeting must vote to reject or deviate from a
stipulation or settlement that is recommended by the Advocate,
Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. I,
Section 8(f), (), Fla. Const. 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New 7-13-
80, Formerly 34-5.20, Amended 2-16-95, 7-28-98,___ .

Settlements,

NAME OF PERSON ORIGINATING PROPOSED RULE:
Gray Schafer, Assistant General Counsel, Florida Commission
on Ethics (850)488-7864

NAME OF AGENCY HEAD WHO APPROVED THE
PROPOSED RULE: Kerrie J. Stillman, Executive Director,
Florida Commission on Ethics

DATE PROPOSED RULE APPROVED BY AGENCY
HEAD: October 29, 2024

DATE NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE DEVELOPMENT
PUBLISHED IN FAR: September 24, 2024

COMMISSION ON ETHICS
RULE NQS.: RULE TITLESy
34-17.008 ™ Investigations

_Probable Cause Deteds ination
) lpulatxons Setﬂemcntsd Consent

34-17.010
34-17.017
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17.010 will be amended® 8Q reflect: (1) the investigatQry report
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within 5 days of its completion}Q) the Advocate will have 15
days upon receiving the \ submit a written
recomihendation to the Commission™eoncerning probable
cause; (3) 1 g Advocate's recommendatlonll be sent to the
respondent witliig 5 days of its completion, and ¥je respondent
will have 14 days spond in writing to the recomt mendation;

the_ Advocate s recommendat the

‘ 5 days of the date of
ormal evidentiary

2024-25%, Laws of Fla.)
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34-5.001 Staff Procedures Upon Receipt of a Complaint of Breach of Public Trust.
(1) through (3) No change.

(4) Transmittal of Complaint to Respondent. A copy of the original sworn complaint that passes Technical and Clerical Review

shall be transmitted to the respondent by certified mail, return receipt requested, by the Commission staff within five days of its

receipt. Subsequent sworn amendments to the complaint also shall be transmitted to the respondent within five days of their receipt.

If the certified mailing is returned undelivered, personal service of the copy of the complaint may be used in the manner provided by

law for service of subpoenas, while maintaining the confidentiality of the complaint to the extent possible under the circumstances.
(5) No change.

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. Il, Sec. 8(f), (h), Fla. Const., Chapter 2013-36, Section 17, LOF,

112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New 4-7-77, Amended 9-21-77, 11-9-77, 7-13-80, 11-26-80, 4-29-81, 2-21-83, Formerly 34-5.01,

Amended 2-16-95, 10-29-13 .

34-5.004 Investigations.
(1) Commencement of Investigations. Investigations shall be initiated only as provided above in Rule 34-5.002, F.A.C,,
provided that information from public records may be obtained by staff prior to the ordering of an investigation to aid in the just and

efficient resolution of a complaint. A preliminary investigation must be undertaken within 30 days after the receipt of a technically

and legally sufficient complaint to determine whether there is probable cause to believe that a violation has occurred. A complainant

may submit an amended complaint up to 60 days after the Commission receives the initial complaint. A probable cause

determination is the conclusion of the preliminary investigation. The Commission shall complete the preliminary investigation,

including the probable cause determination, no later than 1 year after the beginning of the preliminary investigation.

(2) through (6) No change.

(7) Investigator’s Report. Upon the completion of the preliminary investigation, the investigator shall prepare a report to the
Commission. The report shall contain a narrative account of all pertinent information obtained through interviews of witnesses,
documentary evidence, or other sources and shall include a discussion of any conflicts in the evidence. The report shall not contain
any determination or speculation with respect to whether the evidence indicates a breach of public trust. The report shall make no
recommendations. A separate report shall be prepared in accordance with subsection (4), above, if necessary.

(a) An investigatory report must be completed no later than 150 days after the beginning of the preliminary investigation.

(b) If, at any one meeting of the Commission held during a given preliminary investigation, the Commission determines that




additional time is necessary to adequately complete such investigation, the Commission may extend the time frame to complete the

preliminary investigation by no more than 60 days. During such meeting, the Commission shall document its reasons for extending

the investigation and transmit a copy of such documentation to the alleged violator and complainant no later than 5 days after the

extension is ordered.

(8) No change.
Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. II, Section 8(f), (h), Fla. Const., 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New 4-

7-77, Amended 9-21-77, 7-13-80, 1-12-82, Formerly 34-5.04, Amended 2-19-91 .

34-5.006 Probable Cause Determination.
(1) Notification of Completion of Investigation. When the investigator’s report is completed, the Executive Director shall notify
the respondent that the report is completed and shall send to the respondent a copy of the investigator’s report and a copy of the

Executive Director’s order to investigate. The investigatory report must be transmitted to the alleged violator no later than 5 days

after completion of the report. The investigatory file and main complaint file shall be open for inspection by the respondent and the

respondent’s counsel at that time, and copies may be obtained at no more than cost.
(2) No change.

(3) Advocate’s Recommendation. The investigatory report must be transmitted to the counsel representing the Commission (the

Advocate) no later than 5 days after completion of the report. The Advocate shall review the investigator's report and make a

written recommendation to the Commission for disposition of the complaint no later than |5 days after he or she receives the

written

completed investigatory report. The Advocate's

recommendation to the Commission for the disposition of the complaint; must include including a statement of what charges shall be

at issue at the probable cause hearing. A copy of the recommendation must be transmitted shall be furnished to the respondent no

later than 5 days after its completion. The respondent shall be given 14 netless—than—7 days from the date of mailing of the

Advocate’s recommendation—within-whieh-time to file with the Commission a written response to the recommendation. This time
period may be shortened with the consent of the respondent, or without the consent of the respondent when the passage of time
could reasonably be expected to render moot the ultimate disposition of the matter by the Commission, so long as the
recommendation is furnished to the respondent within a reasonable period of time under the circumstances.

(4) Notice of Probable Cause Hearing and Right to Attend. Upon receipt of the Advocate's recommendation, the Commission

shall schedule a probable cause hearing for the next Commission meeting for which notice requirements can be met. The respondent,




the complainant(s), their counsel, and the Advocate shall be permitted to attend the hearing at which the probable cause
determination is made. Notice of the probable cause hearing shall be sent to the respondent, complainant(s), and Advocate at least 14
days before the hearing. This time period may be shortened with the consent of the respondent, or without the consent of the
respondent when the passage of time could reasonably be expected to render moot the ultimate disposition of the matter by the
Commission, so long as the notice is furnished within a reasonable period of time under the circumstances.

(5) No change.

(6) No change.

(7) Finding of Probable Cause. If the Commission finds probable cause to believe a breach of the public trust has been

committed, it must transmit a copy of the order finding probable cause to the complainant and the alleged violator no later than 5

days after the date of the probable cause determination.

(a) Upon request submitted to the Commission in writing, any person whom the Commission finds probable cause to believe

has committed a violation is entitled to a public hearing and may elect to have the formal administrative hearing conducted by an

administrative law judge in the Division of Administrative Hearings.

(b) If the person does not elect to have a formal administrative hearing by an administrative law judge, the person is entitled to

have an informal hearing conducted before the Commission.

(c) Such person is deemed to have waived the right to a formal or informal public hearing if the request is not received within

14 days of the mailing date of the probable cause notification.

(d) If the Commission conducts an informal hearing, it must be held no later than 75 days after the date of the probable cause

determination.

(e) If the Commission refers a case to the Division of Administrative Hearings for a formal hearing and subsequently requests

that the case be relinquished back to the Commission, or if the administrative law judge assigned to the case relinquishes jurisdiction

back to the Commission before a recommended order is entered, the Commission must schedule the case for additional action at the

next Commission meeting for which notice requirements can be met. At that Commission meeting, the Commission must complete

final action on such case,

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. I, Section 8(f), (h), Fla. Const., 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New 4-

7-77, Amended 9-21-77, 7-13-80, 2-21-83, 11-14-85, Formerly 34-5.06, Amended 2-19-91, 7-7-91, 7-5-92, 7-28-98, 9-4-12.



34-5.020 Stipulations, Settlements, and Consent Orders.
Informal disposition of the complaint may be made of any proceeding by stipulation, agreed settlement, or consent order between
the Advocate and the Respondent, upon approval of the Commission in a public meeting, so long as a public report is made.

(1) through (2) No change.

(3) At least two-thirds of the members of the Commission present at a meeting must vote to reject or deviate from a stipulation

or settlement that is recommended by the Advocate.

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) ES. Law Implemented Art. Il, Section 8(f), (h), Fla. Const. 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New 7-

13-80, Formerly 34-5.20, Amended 2-16-95, 7-28-98 )



