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MEMORANDUM
TO: Commission Members
FROM: Gray Schafer, Assistant General Counsel
DATE: November 20, 2024
RE: Rule Hearing on amendments to Chapter 34-17 <\ “\, !

The Commission is being asked to consider and approve rulemaking involving necessary updates
Chapter 34-17, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.). The rule amendments have been duly
noticed and materials have been provided to the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee.

This rulemaking is intended to update certain rules regarding the handling of ethics referrals and
will reflect recent changes made by Ch. 2024-253, Laws of Florida. The updates are necessary
to implement statutory amendments made by the law to Section 112.324(3), Florida Statutes.
The particular amendments in question, which will be discussed below, concern new timeframes
for each stage of the ethics referral process, and apply to referrals submitted to the Ethics
Commission on or after October 1, 2024. See § 112.324(3)(k), Fla. Stat. Rulemaking authority
for these changes is found in Section 112.322(9), Florida Statutes, which allows the Commission
"to make such rules not inconsistent with law" regarding its practices and procedures. (emphasis
added). The following discussion will cite each change to the rules that is needed, and cite to the
newly-amended portion(s) of Section 112.324(3) requiring each individual change.

First, Rule 34-17.008(1) will be amended to indicate: (1) a preliminary investigation must be
undertaken by Commission within 30 days after receiving a referral (§ 112.324(3)(a), Fla. Stat.);
and (2) the Commission has one year to complete a preliminary investigation, including
determining probable cause (§112.324(3)(a), Fla. Stat.).



Second, Rule 34-17.008(6) will be amended to indicate: (1) an investigatory report must be
completed within 150 days from the start of the investigation (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.); and
(2) the process by which the Commission may extend the time frame to complete the
investigation, which can extend for up to 60 days (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.).

Third, Rule 34-17.010(1) will be amended to indicate an investigatory report must be sent to the
respondent within 5 days of its completion (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.).

Fourth, Rule 34-17.010(3) will be amended to indicate: (1) an investigatory report must be sent
to the Commission's Advocate within 5 days of its completion (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.); (2)
the Advocate will have 15 days upon receiving the report to submit a written recommendation to
the Commission concerning probable cause (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla. Stat.); and (3) the Advocate's
recommendation shall be sent to the respondent within 5 days of its completion, and the
respondent will have 14 days to respond in writing to the recommendation (§ 112.324(3)(b), Fla.
Stat.).

Fifth, Rule 34-17.010(4) will be amended to indicate that, upon receiving the Advocate's
recommendation, the Commission will schedule a probable cause hearing for its next
Commission meeting (§ 112.324(3)(¢), Fla. Stat.).

Sixth, Rule 34-17.010(7) will be amended to indicate: (1) if the Commission finds probable
cause during the hearing, it will send an order of this finding to the complainant and the
respondent within 5 days of the date of the determination (§ 112.324(3)(e), Fla. Stat.); (2) the
process by which a formal evidentiary hearing or an informal hearing may be requested,
including clarifying that a formal or informal public hearing will be deemed waived if not
requested by a respondent within 14 days of receiving the probable cause determination (§§
112.324(3)(e) and (3)(f), Fla. Stat.); and (3) the process by which the Commission will complete
final action on a case after a public hearing is held (§ 112.324(3)(g), Fla. Stat.).

Seventh and finally, Rule 34-17.017(3) will be amended to indicate that at least two-thirds of the
members of the Commission present at a meeting must vote to reject or deviate from a
stipulation or settlement being recommended by the Commission Advocate. See §
112.324(3)(h), Fla. Stat.

The Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and the text of the proposed amended rules are attached.
You will be asked to approve this proposed rulemaking at your December 6, 2024, Commission
meeting.

Attachments
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PROPOSED LE DEVELOPMENT

DA
IED IN FAR:

PUBLI September 24, 2024
COMMISSION ON ETHICS

RULE NOS.: RULE TITLES:

34-17.008 Investigations

34-17.010 Probable Cause Determination
34-17.017 Stipulations, Settlements and Consent

Orders

PURPOSE AND EFFECT: The purpose of this rulemaking will
be to update the rules regarding the handling of ethics referrals
to reflect the deadlines and process changes recently inserted
into Section 112.324(3), Florida Statutes, by Ch. 2024-253,
Laws of Florida.

SUMMARY:: All of the following amendments are based on
statutory additions to Section 112.324(3), Florida Statutes. Rule
34-17.008 will be amended to indicate: (1) a preliminary
investigation must be undertaken by Commission within 30
days after receiving a referral that is technically and legally
sufficient; (2) the Commission has one year to complete a
preliminary investigation, including determining probable
cause; (3) an investigatory report must be completed within 150

days from the start of the investigation; and (4) the process by
which the Commission may extend the time frame to complete
the investigation, which can extend for up to 60 days. Rule 34-
17.010 will be amended to reflect: (1) the investigatory report
must be sent to the respondent and the Commission's Advocate
within 5 days of its completion; (2) the Advocate will have 15
days upon receiving the report to submit a written
recommendation to the Commission concerning probable
cause; (3) the Advocate's recommendation shall be sent to the
respondent within 5 days of its completion, and the respondent
will have 14 days to respond in writing to the recommendation;
(4) upon receiving the Advocate's recommendation, the
Commission will schedule a probable cause hearing for its next
Commission meeting; (5) if the Commission finds probable
cause during the hearing, it will send an order of this finding to
the complainant and the respondent within 5 days of the date of
the determination; (6) the process by which a formal evidentiary
hearing may be requested, including clarifying that a public
hearing will be deemed waived if not requested by a respondent
within 14 days of receiving the probable cause determination;
and (7) the process by which the Commission will complete
final action on a case after a public hearing is held. Rule 34-
17.017 will be amended to indicate that at least two-thirds of
the members of the Commission present at a meeting must vote
to reject or deviate from a stipulation or seftlement being
recommended by the Commission Advocate.

SUMMARY OF STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED
REGULATORY COSTS AND LEGISLATIVE
RATIFICATION:

The Agency has determined that this will not have an adverse
impact on small business or likely increase directly or indirectly
regulatory costs in excess of $200,000 in the aggregate within
one year after the implementation of the rule. A SERC has not
been prepared by the Agency.

The Agency has determined that the proposed rule is not
expected to require legislative ratification based om the
statement of estimated regulatory costs or if no SERC is
required, the information expressly relied upon and described
herein: considering that these amendments pertain only to
deadlines and process requirements concerning how the
Commission handles ethics referrals, the adverse impact or
regulatory costs, if any, do' not exceed and would not be
expected to exceed any one of the economic criteria set forth in
Section 120.541(2)(a), F.S.

Any person who wishes to provide information regarding a
statement of estimated regulatory costs, or provide a proposal
for a lower cost regulatory alternative must do so in writing
within 21 days of this notice.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY: 112.322(9), F.S.

LAW IMPLEMENTED: 112.324, F.S. (as amended by Ch.
2024-253, Laws of Fla.)
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A HEARING WILL BE HELD AT THE DATE, TIME AND
PLACE SHOWN BELOW:

DATE AND TIME: December 6, 2024, 8:30 a.m.

PLACE: First District Court of Appeal, Third Floor Courtroom,
2000 Drayton Drive, Tallahassee, Florida.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities
Act, any person requiring special accommodations to
participate in this workshop/mecting is asked to advise the
agency at least 3 days before the workshop/meeting by
contacting: Diana Westberry, Office Manager, Florida
Commission on Ethics (850)488-7864. If you are hearing or
speech impaired, please contact the agency using the Florida
Relay Service, 1(800)955-8771 (TDD) or 1(800)955-8770
(Voice).

THE PERSON TO BE CONTACTED REGARDING THE
PROPOSED RULE IS: Gray Schafer, Assistant General
Counsel, Florida Commission on Ethics (850)488-7864

THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED RULE IS:

34-17.008 Investigations.

(1) Commencement of Investigations. Investigations shall
be initiated only as provided above in Rule 34-17.005, F.A.C,,
provided that information from public records may be obtained
by staff prior to the ordering of an investigation to aid in the just
and efficient resolution of a referrall A  preliminary

investigation must be undertaken by the Commission within 30
days after the receipt of any technically and legally sufficient

referral over which the Commission has jurisdiction to
determine whether there is probable cause to believe that a
violation has occurred. The probable cause determination is the

conclusion of the preliminary investigation. The Commission
shall complete the preliminary investigation. including the
probable cause determination, no later than 1 year after the
beginning of the preliminary investigation.

(2) through (5) No change.

(6) Investigator’s Report. Upon the completion of the
preliminary investigation, the investigator shall prepare a report
to the Commission. The report shall contain a narrative account
of all pertinent information obtained through interviews of
witnesses, documentary evidence, or other sources and shall
include a discussion of any conflicts in the evidence. The report
shall not contain any determination or speculation with respect
to whether the evidence indicates a breach of public trust. The
report shall make no recommendations.

(a) An investigatory report must be completed no later than

150 days after the beginning of the preliminary investigation
(b) If, at any one meeting of the Commission held during a
given preliminary investigation, the Commission determines

that additional time is necessary to adequately complete such

investigation, the Commission may extend the time frame to

4120

complete the preliminary investigation by no more than 60
days. During such meeting, the Commission shall document its
reasons for extending the investigation and transmit a copy of
such documentation to the alleged violator no later than 5 days
after the extension is ordered.

(7) No change.
Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. II,
Section 8, Fla. Const., 112,322, 112.324 FS. History—New 11-24-13,

34-17.010 Probable Cause Determination.

(1) Notification of Completion of Investigation. When the
investigator’s report is completed, the Executive Director shall
notify the respondent that the report is completed and shall send
to the respondent a copy of the investigator’s report. The
investigatory report must be transmitted to the alleged violator
no later than 5 days after completion of the report. The
investigatory file and main referral file shall be open for
inspection by the respondent and the respondent’s counsel at
that time, and copies may be obtained at no more than cost.

(2) No change.

(3) Advocate’s Recommendation. The investigatory report
must be transmitted to the counsel representing the Commission
(the Advocate) no later than 5 days after completion of the
report. The Advocate shall review the investigator's report and
make a written recommendation to the Commission for the
disposition of the referral no later than 15 days after he or she
receives the completed investigatory report. The Advocate's

3

a written recommendation to the Commission for the
disposition of the referral; must include eluding a statement
of what charges shall be at issue at the probable cause hearing.
A copy of the recommendation must be transmitted shal-be
furnished to the respondent no later than 5 days after its
completion. The respondent shall be given 14 net-less—than7?
days from the date of mailing of the Advocate’s
recommendation,—within—which—time to file with the
Commission a written response to the recommendation. This
time period may be shortened with the consent of the
respondent, or without the consent of the respondent when the
passage of time could reasonably be expected to render moot
the ultimate disposition of the matter by the Commission, so
long as the recommendation is furnished to the respondent
within a reasonable period of time under the circumstances.

(4) Notice of Probable Cause Hearing and Right to Attend.
Upon receipt of the Advocate's recommendation, the
Commission shall schedule a probable cause hearing for the
next Commission meeting for which notice requirements can be
met. The respondent, a representative from the referring
agency, their counsel, and the Advocate shall be permitted to
attend the hearing at which the probable cause determination is
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made. Notice of the probable cause hearing shall be sent to the
respondent, the referring agency, and Advocate at least 14 days
before the hearing. This time period may be shortened with the
consent of the respondent, or without the consent of the
respondent when the passage of time could reasonably be
expected to render moot the ultimate disposition of the matter
by the Commission, so long as the notice is furnished within a
reasonable period of time under the circumstances.

(5) through (6) No change.

(7) Finding of Probable Cause. If the Commission finds
probable cause to believe a breach of the public trust has been
committed, it must transmit a copy of the order finding probable
cause to the alleged violator no Jater than 5 days after the date
of the probable cause determination.

(a) Upon request submitted to the Commission in writing
any person whom the Commission finds probable cause to

believe has committed 3 violation is entitled to a public hearing
and may elect to have a formal administrative hearing

conducted by _an administrative Jaw judge in the Division of
Administrative Hearings.

(b) If the person does not elect to have a formal
administrative hearing by an administrative law judge, the
person is entitled to have an informal hearing conducted by the
Commission.

(¢} Such person is deemed to have waived the right to a
formal or informal public hearing if the request is not received
within 14 days of the mailing date of the probable cause
notification.

(d) If the Commission conducts an informal hearing, it
must be held no later than 75 days after the date of the probable
cause determination.

(e) If the Commission refers a case to the Division of
Administrative Hearings for a formal hearing and subsequently
requests that the case be relinquished back to the Commission
or if the administrative law judge assigned to the case
relinquishes jurisdiction back to the Commission before a
recommended order is entered, the Commission must schedule
the case for additional action at the next Commission meeting
for which notice requirements can be met. At that Commission

meeting, the Commission must complete final action on such

case.
Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. II,
Section 8, Fla. Const., 112.322, 112,324 FS. History—New 11-24-13,

34-17.017 Stipulations, Settlements and Consent
Orders.

Informal disposition of the referral may be made of any
proceeding by stipulation, agreed settlement, or consent order

between the Advocate and the Respondent, upon approval of

the Commission in a public meeting, so long as a public report

is made.

(1) through (2) No change.

(3) At least two-thirds of the members of the Commission
present at a meeting must vote to reject or deviate from a
stipulation or settlement that is recommended by the Advocate.

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. I,
Section 8, Fla. Const., 112.322, 112.324 FS. History-New 11-24-13,

NAME OF PERSON ORIGINATING PROPOSED RULE:
Gray Schafer, Assistant General Counsel, Florida Commission
on Ethics (850)488-7864

NAME OF AGENCY HEAD WHO APPROVED THE
PROPOSED RULE: Kerrie J. Stillman, Executive Director,
Florida Commission on Ethics

DATE PROPOSED RULE APPROVED BY AGENCY

HEAD: October 29, 2024
DATE NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE DEVELOPMENT
PUBLISHED IN FAR: September 24, 2024

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
Board of Optometry—.
RULE NO.: RULE M
64B13-4.0041  Endorsemeit

PURPOSE AND EFFECT: The ~Board propNi rule
promulgation due to new legislation arding the apphication

SUMMARY 0
REGULATORY
RATIFICATION:
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34-17.008 Investigations.
(1) Commencement of Investigations. Investigations shall be initiated only as provided above in Rule 34-17.005, F.A.C,,
provided that information from public records may be obtained by staff prior to the ordering of an investigation to aid in the just and

efficient resolution of a referral. A preliminary investigation must be undertaken by the Commission within 30 days after the receipt

of any technically and legally sufficient referral over which the Commission has jurisdiction to determine whether there is probable

cause to believe that a violation has occurred. The probable cause determination is the conclusion of the preliminary investigation.

The Commission shall complete the preliminary investigation, including the probable cause determination, no later than 1 year after

the beginning of the preliminary investigation.

(2) through (5) No change.

(6) Investigator’s Report. Upon the completion of the preliminary investigation, the investigator shall prepare a report to the
Commission. The report shall contain a narrative account of all pertinent information obtained through interviews of witnesses,
documentary evidence, or other sources and shall include a discussion of any conflicts in the evidence. The report shall not contain
any determination or speculation with respect to whether the evidence indicates a breach of public trust. The report shall make no
recommendations.

(a) An investigatory report must be completed no later than 150 days after the beginning of the preliminary investigation

(b) If, at any one meeting of the Commission held during a given preliminary investigation, the Commission determines that

additional time is necessary to adequately complete such investigation, the Commission may extend the time frame to complete the

preliminary investigation by no more than 60 days. During such meeting, the Commission shall document its reasons for extending

the investigation and transmit a copy of such documentation to the alleged violator no later than 5 days after the extension is

ordered.
(7) No change.

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. 11, Section 8, Fla. Const., 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New 11-24-13,

34-17.010 Probable Cause Determination.
(1) Notification of Completion of Investigation. When the investigator’s report is completed, the Executive Director shall notify
the respondent that the report is completed and shall send to the respondent a copy of the investigator’s report. The investigatory

report must be transmitted to the alleged violator no later than 5 days after completion of the report. The investigatory file and main




referral file shall be open for inspection by the respondent and the respondent’s counsel at that time, and copies may be obtained at
no more than cost.
(2) No change.

(3) Advocate’s Recommendation. The investigatory report must be transmitted to the counsel representing the Commission (the

Advocate) no later than 5 days after completion of the report. The Advocate shall review the investigator's report and make a written

recommendation to the Commission for the disposition of the referral no later than 15 days after he or she receives the completed

investigatory report. The Advocate's Advocate-shall-review-the-investigator’sreport-and-shal-make-a written recommendation to the

Commission for the disposition of the referral; must include ineluding a statement of what charges shall be at issue at the probable

cause hearing. A copy of the recommendation must be transmitted shall-be-furnished to the respondent no later than 5 days after its

completion. The respondent shall be given 14 net-less—than7 days from the date of mailing of the Advocate’s recommendation;
within-which-time to file with the Commission a written response to the recommendation. This time period may be shortened with
the consent of the respondent, or without the consent of the respondent when the passage of time could reasonably be expected to
render moot the ultimate disposition of the matter by the Commission, so long as the recommendation is furnished to the respondent
within a reasonable period of time under the circumstances.

(4) Notice of Probable Cause Hearing and Right to Attend. Upon receipt of the Advocate's recommendation, the Commission

shall schedule a probable cause hearing for the next Commission meeting for which notice requirements can be met. The respondent,

a representative from the referring agency, their counsel, and the Advocate shall be permitted to attend the hearing at which the
probable cause determination is made. Notice of the probable cause hearing shall be sent to the respondent, the referring agency, and
Advocate at least 14 days before the hearing. This time period may be shortened with the consent of the respondent, or without the
consent of the respondent when the passage of time could reasonably be expected to render moot the ultimate disposition of the
matter by the Commission, so long as the notice is furnished within a reasonable period of time under the circumstances.

(5) through (6) No change.

(7)_Finding of Probable Cause. If the Commission finds probable cause to believe a breach of the public trust has been

committed, it must transmit a copy of the order finding probable cause to the alleged violator no later than 5 days after the date of

the probable cause determination.

(a) Upon request submitted to the Commission in writing, any person whom the Commission finds probable cause to believe

has committed a violation is entitled to a public hearing and may elect to have a formal administrative hearing conducted by an

administrative law judge in the Division of Administrative Hearings,




(b) If the person does not elect to have a formal administrative hearing by an administrative law judge, the person is entitled to

have an informal hearing conducted by the Commission.

(c) Such person is deemed to have waived the right to a formal or informal public hearing if the request is not received within

14 days of the mailing date of the probable cause notification.

(d) If the Commission conducts an informal hearing, it must be held no later than 75 days after the date of the probable cause

determination.

(e) If the Commission refers a case to the Division of Administrative Hearings for a formal hearing and subsequently requests
that the case be relinquished back to the Commission, or if the administrative law judge assigned to the case relinquishes jurisdiction

back to the Commission before a recommended order is entered, the Commission must schedule the case for additional action at the

next Commission meeting for which notice requirements can be met. At that Commission meeting, the Commission must complete

final action on such case.

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. II, Section 8, Fla. Const., 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New [1-24-13,

34-17.017 Stipulations, Settlements and Consent Orders.
Informal disposition of the referral may be made of any proceeding by stipulation, agreed settlement, or consent order between the
Advocate and the Respondent, upon approval of the Commission in a public meeting, so long as a public report is made.

(1) through (2) No change.

(3) At least two-thirds of the members of the Commission present at a meeting must vote to reject or deviate from a stipulation

or settlement that is recommended by the Advocate.

Rulemaking Authority 112.322(9) FS. Law Implemented Art. Il, Section 8, Fla. Const., 112.322, 112.324 FS. History—New 11-24-13,



